Wednesday, 24 May 2017

The Levelling



Upon hearing news of her brother’s apparent suicide, Clover Catto (Ellie Kendrick) returns home to a house devastated by a recent flood and a distant father (played by David Troughton). At home, Clover tries to cope with the loss of her brother but her distant and difficult relationship with her dad makes processing that loss a painful task.

Thursday, 18 May 2017

Thursday Movie Picks - The Renaissance


This week’s Thursday Movie Picks (about The Renaissance), hosted by Wandering Through the Shelves, has an entirely unintentional link. That link is Orson Welles, he starred in two of the films I selected and in the final pick Welles starred in another film adaptation of the famous Scottish Play.

Wednesday, 17 May 2017

Alien: Covenant


 
Alien Covenant is set 10 years after the events in Prometheus and is about the ship named The Covenant which is on a colonization mission to the planet Origae-6. However, the crew are woken by a solar flare, which kills their captain, leaving Bully Crudup’s Christopher Oram in charge. By chance, the ship intercepts a message from a nearby planet which offers the crew everything they need to survive. Following the deadly accident in their sleeping pods, the crew decide not to go back to hyper-sleep and decide instead to investigate the nearby planet where everything imaginable goes wrong.

Saturday, 13 May 2017

Sandy Wexler


Over the last decade the way movies are being distributed has changed, the biggest change is that companies like Netflix and Amazon (who offer their content on demand) are now starting to produce their own films some of which are not released in cinemas. Netflix have managed to secure Adam Sandler, who can be a massive box office draw, to a four film deal. Sandy Wexler is the third film of the four film deal (his second with director Steven Brill) and once again its poor, but on the plus side, it’s better than the previous Netflix produced efforts.

Sunday, 7 May 2017

Guardians of the Galaxy 2


It was quite a surprise when the little-known Guardians of the Galaxy became one of the most highly rated Marvel films since the Superhero movie boom in 2008. Since then Guardians of the Galaxy has been my favourite superhero movie thus far so the second was highly anticipated. In the sequel, the Guardians of the Galaxy are still working together and their latest mission sees them handing over a series of super powerful batteries in exchange for Gamora’s (Zoe Salanda) sister, Nebula (Karen Gillian) who is held captive by the Sovereign race. 

Friday, 28 April 2017

Blindspot 2017: Mulholland Drive (SPOILERS)

Last year the BBC conducted a poll where David Lynch’s Mulholland Drive was voted the greatest film of the 21st century. Naturally this got the attention of people from different walks of life, all with different levels of interest in cinema. What people have to understand is that film critics (who like films in funny languages with weird writing down the bottom) will not select an ordinary film as the greatest. That’s the attitude you will have to take when watching Mulholland Drive, it is not an ordinary film.

Thursday, 27 April 2017

Passengers

I must admit that I was pretty sniffy towards Passengers. I mean they took the rather cynical move of casting the two most popular, young and attractive actors in the leading roles. All the casting crew did was just pick two of the most popular actors have done with it. Still it was a little unfair that I turned my nose up because it turned out to be a rather enjoyable film.

Thursday, 20 April 2017

Thursday Movie Picks: A Disappearance


A new week means a new Thursday Movie Picks. This week is all about disappearances. This is gonna be short and sweet. 

Make sure to check out - http://wanderingthroughtheshelves.blogspot.co.uk/

Wednesday, 19 April 2017

Raw


When Raw premiered at the London Film Festival there were reports of people fainting in the aisles and vomiting in the toilets. Whether this is true or not, the media attention the film received was positive from there on…who wouldn’t want to see the film that made people faint and throw up? In actual fact this sort of attention does the film a disservice because it’s so much more than simply being a French Cannibal Horror film with vomit inducing gore.

Monday, 17 April 2017

Their Finest



Back in the 1930s and 1940s movie studios used to hire women to write women’s dialogue, they never got any credit for dialogue as the male screenwriter usually retained all of the credit. However, when war arrived on the shores of Britain many men were called up to arms, leaving many male dominated jobs (factory work and script writing) left unfilled unless they were taken by women. Catrin Cole (Gemma Arterton) took on such a role, helping pen the next great British film to inspire the nation. The fictional film is about the Dunkirk evacuation, and the ‘true’ story of the two women who boarded their ship to assist in the Dunkirk evacuation. For Catrin, life on the studio set is rife with casual sexism, but Catrin slowly gets the respect of her co-writers, particularly Tom Buckley (Sam Claflin).

Wednesday, 12 April 2017

Beauty and the Beast


You all know the story; when the Prince (Dan Stevens) refuses to accommodate a traveller in need he is turned into a beast as a punishment for all his selfish deeds but still has a chance to change. If he does not find love before the final petal falls off the rose he will be cursed for all eternity, living life as a beast. The world forgets about him bu when Maurice (Kevin Kline) is kidnapped by the beast his daughter, Belle (Emma Watson), offers to replace him. Imprisoned, Belle attempts to escape but in her bid to escape Belle is cornered by wolves, and rescued by the beast who injuries himself in the process. Belle tends to his injuries and pair begin to feel affection for one another. The village, however, get wind of Belle's capture and rush to storm the castle.

Friday, 7 April 2017

Graduation

Romeo Aldea’s (Adrian Titieni) daughter, Eliza (Maria Dragus), is well on the way to studying at the prestigious University of Cambridge. Romeo wants what is best for his daughter (to leave Romania), but Eliza is attacked and injures her wrist days before her final exams. Without top marks, Eliza cannot attend university in the UK, however an alternative plan has been offered that will ensure Eliza's place at Cambridge, but this dishonest course of action goes against everything Romeo had tried to teach Eliza.

Thursday, 6 April 2017

Thursday Movie Picks: Car/Racing Movies


As motor racing is a sport (don’t look at me like that! It bloody well is a sport) any fictional movie about racing won’t be quite as exciting as a true moment of sporting greatness. Perhaps, that’s why my picks are either based on true stories or are documentaries. Make sure to visit - http://wanderingthroughtheshelves.blogspot.co.uk/

Monday, 3 April 2017

Get Out


Jordan Peele and Keegan Michael Key are best known for their work on their sketch show, Key and Peele, which is on Comedy Central (I know this because I see it advertised when I watch Friends for the 1000th time). Key has starred in many supporting roles in multiple movies and the pair starred and wrote the enjoyable Keanu. This time Jordan Peele is in the directing chair (Key makes a small cameo appearance) helming one of the best reviewed films of the year thus far.

Friday, 31 March 2017

The Handmaiden

Loosely based on the novel Fingersmith by Sarah Walter, director Park Chan-Wook moves the story from Victorian England to Korea under Japanese Imperial control where a conman, under the alias Fujiwara, tries to con the rich heiress Lazy Izumi Hideko (Kim Min-hee) out of her illustrious inheritance. He enlists the help of Sook-hee (Kim Tae-ri) but Izumi Hideko and Sook-hee begin to become close, and their feelings for one another begin to complicate the con.

Thursday, 30 March 2017

Blindspot: A Streetcar Named Desire and The Apartment

I forgot to watch one of  the blindspot selected films last month, so here's two for the price of one

Thursday, 23 March 2017

Thursday Movie Picks: Underdogs

 
When I think of underdogs I normally go straight to sport so each of these picks will be related to sports. You will also notice that each of these picks are based on true stories because, as commentators frequently say “you can’t write scripts like this”. Because who would have imagined that Leicester City would defy 5000-1 odds and pull off the greatest achievement in the history of team sport by winning the Premier League. Who would have thought Japan would beat two-time world champions South Africa at the 2015 Rugby World Cup to win their first Rugby World Cup game for almost 25 years? It’s true…you can’t write scripts like this.

Tuesday, 21 March 2017

Personal Shopper


Olivier Assayas’ Personal Shopper once again stars Kristen Stewart (the pair worked together on the Clouds of Sils Maria) as a sort of assistant to a famous individual. This time the individual in question is the notoriously demanding fashion model Kyra (Nora von Waldstätten), who Maureen (Stewart) acts as a personal shopper to. Maureen is also a medium and spends most of her downtime trying to contact her recently deceased brother who died of a heart condition of which Maureen also suffers.

Wednesday, 15 March 2017

Logan

Set in 2029 (I think) Logan (Hugh Jackman) is a cynical drunk who works as a chauffeur driving drunk teenagers to a casino or the next party destination. The only thing he has in his life is an ailing Charles Xavier (Patrick Stewart) who Logan takes care of. That is until a nurse asks Logan to take a young girl, Laura (Dafne Keen) to Eden (a safe space for mutants), for a large sum of money. This young girl has claws protruding from her fist, is she Logan’s daughter? Whatever the answer is Logan finds himself right in the heart of whatever this girl is involved in.

Saturday, 11 March 2017

Toni Erdmann



In order to spend more time with his busy and career driven daughter, Ines (Sandra Huller), Winfried Conradi (Peter Simonischek) decides to visit her, unexpectedly, in Romania. At first, Ines humours him and devotes some time to him but soon her work takes over and Winfried has to leave. So, Winfired does the only sensible thing and tries to spend time with his daughter by pretending to be his life coach alter ego, Toni Erdmann, causing havoc in Ines' professional life.

Wednesday, 8 March 2017

Best Performances of 2016

I'm not a Graphic Designer
This is a list of the the best performances by actors (both male and female) of 2016. I didn’t manage to get round to seeing praised performances from Ruth Negga or Isabelle Huppert so they’re not gonna be listed for that reason. 

Monday, 6 March 2017

Hidden Figures

The lack of black nominations last year generated the #oscarssowhite trend on twitter but this year the number of black nominees for acting, directing, cinematography and of course best film has left them rather satisfied. Contrary to a tragically commonly held belief, the reason these films were nominated have nothing to do with the hashtag but the quality of the films, performances and the work by those involved.

Saturday, 4 March 2017

Top 10 Films of 2016


It’s about three months into 2017 so it’s perhaps best I release my top 10 list of 2016. I have not seen every potential top 10 film from 2016 but I can’t really wait much longer. A film’s year is decided by the year it went on general release in the UK or US.

Monday, 27 February 2017

The Oscars: 2017

Quite frankly there is only one place to start and that’s right at the end. Up until that point, the ceremony was a quite predictable affair, but when Moonlight was announced as the actual Best Picture only minutes after La La Land was announced as the winner, it was a twist ending that M.Night Shyamalan would have been proud to pen. 

Even though La La Land would have been an acceptable winner, Moonlight is the better film as its a more profound piece of cinema whilst La La Land serves as excellent escapism. Not that that’s a bad thing, movies are just as much about escapism than they are about tackling profound and important issues. I do feel credit has to be given to the La La Land nominess on stage during that awful mix up for the graciousness in the way they handed the award over to Moonlight. I also feel great sympathy for Warren Beatty who, in hindsight, perhaps should have announced it was the wrong card (he clearly realised something was amiss) but blame can’t be attached to him as he’s not a professional presenter.

Wednesday, 22 February 2017

Lion


A young Saroo goes out with his brother for work late at night, his brother tells him to wait at the station but he never returns. Saroo wakes up alone and struggles to find his brother and falls asleep on a train parked at the station. He wakes up on the train traveling to Calcutta, miles away from home and no idea where to start looking, Saroo has to contend with a tough life on the street. He is then taken in my orphange and adopted by an Australian couple. In his adult life, Saroo tries to find his biological family and it becomes an obsession.

Thursday, 16 February 2017

Thursday Movie Picks: Shakespeare adapatations



When Thursday dawns it means that a new Thursday Movie picks is due, this week is adaptations of the works of some famous English playwright named William Shakespeare.

Sunday, 12 February 2017

Hacksaw Ridge



Despite courting some controversy throughout his career Mel Gibson has proven himself to be a pretty competent film director. Hacksaw Ridge shows off his talents at directing large scale battles (as he also showed in Braveheart) but he flounders slightly in the build up to the brutal second half of the film. Hacksaw Ridge tells its story in a way that most have come accustomed to in such a genre (a love interest, his fellow squad members slow build a growing respect for him despite making him a target of bullying at the start are staple parts of the genre). The film it reminded me most of was Sergeant York (without the central hero killing the enemy) in which a simple country boy finds the love of his life, marries her and goes on to become a war hero.

Tuesday, 7 February 2017

The Underrated, Underappreciated, and the Unseen

Here are a number of films from the year 2016 that I feel haven’t quite hit the heights they deserve, be it from low box office takings, positive critical reviews and getting the appreciation it deserves.

Friday, 3 February 2017

Worst 10 movies of 2016

The worst films of the year list is sometimes more enjoyable than the top 10 or 20 best films of the years lists of the year because people do like reading about how much someone hates something. Personally, I don’t like being negative but I disliked these films such much that they prop the list of films I saw from 2016 (which is well over 120) as the worst of the lot. My much more positive top 20 list will come soon after I have seen the likes of Lion, Fences, and Hidden Figures. I want the most complete list as possible.

Thursday, 2 February 2017

Sunday, 29 January 2017

Jackie


Jackie follows Jackie Kennedy (Natalie Portman, the wife of the John F. Kennedy the President who was assassinated by Lee Harvey Oswald in 1963. The film follows Jackie in the moments before and after the assassination as she tries to cope with her crippling grief.

Friday, 27 January 2017

2017 Blindspot: 8 1/2

Federico Fellini is one of the most renowned and celebrated film directors of all time, especially in film circles. His name is often found among the likes of Bergman, Kurosawa, Kubrick, and Renoir as the most influential filmmakers in the industry. Arguably his most famous film, from a catalogue of highly regarded films, is 8 ½, a unique film about the filmmaking process.  Fellini was living la dolce vita when his film was nominated for five Academy Awards (including Best Director and Best Original Screenplay) winning two of them for Best Foreign Film and Best Costume Design.

Wednesday, 25 January 2017

Split


Since The Sixth Sense M.Night Shyamalan’s career has been steadily going downhill, especially regarding the quality of his output. He reached rock bottom somewhere between The Last Airbender and After Earth and from then on he’s name became a joke. He improved with his low budget, back to basics horror film The Visit which has strong links to his latest film, Split. Both Split and The Visit feature mentally ill people as the antagonist of the movie, Split is about a guy named Kevin (James McAvoy) a man who has 23 personalities who kidnaps a group of girls. He has weekly visits to his psychologist who believes that people with Dissociative identity disorder (DID) not only change their personality but their own genetics.

Sunday, 22 January 2017

The Bye Bye Man



When horror movies are released in the month of January (where the scariest things are your new resolutions) it’s usually because the studio backing the film have little confidence in it. Because of that I went into The Bye Bye Man with the lowest of expectations and, coupled with its release date, its lack of marketing and awkward title probably hindered the film ever producing the sequel it promised. Anyway, The Bye Bye Man is about about three collage students who move into an old house. Shortly after moving in, Sasha (Cressida Bonas), begins to suspect something is off about the house. Elliot (Douglas Smith) is at first skeptical but when he reads aloud some strange words etched into a chest of drawers strange things begin to happen.

Saturday, 21 January 2017

Anthropoid



There’s this strange pattern where movies with a similar subject matter are released at the same time (think White House Down and Olympus Has Fallen and Deep Impact and Armageddon). This time both films (the other film comes out next year) are about the 1942 assassination of Reinhard Heydrich, a man so evil that even Hitler labelled him ‘the man with the Iron Heart’ whilst others nicknamed the 'Butcher of Prague'. 

Thursday, 19 January 2017

Thursday Movie Picks: Stars who Died in 2016

To spice things up a little (actually, in truth I didn’t realise that it was actors only) I decided to pick films in which someone who died in 2016 had a prominent role in making the film because there’s more to movies than just acting (I hope you don’t mind Brigit!). Make sure to check out - http://wanderingthroughtheshelves.blogspot.co.uk/

Tuesday, 17 January 2017

La La Land


Mia (Emma Stone) is an aspiring actress working as a barista in a coffee shop on the actual lots of Hollywood. Seb (Ryan Gosling) is jazz musician with dreams that are far beyond playing Christmas tunes on a piano at a crappy restaurant. The pair meet on numerous occasions before romance blossoms, and as they both try (and sometimes struggle) to make their dreams come true, they go through a whirlwind romance full of highs and lows.

Friday, 13 January 2017

Five Most Disappointing Movies of 2016


2016 has been a pretty decent year for films, in my opinion at least. Naturally, some of the most highly anticipated films of the year were disappointing, such as Suicide Squad and Batman Vs Superman (the latter I had no hope for whatsoever). However, there have been some great films outside the mainstream (where the films were pretty disappointing) but today I'm going to focus on the films I was looking forward to but let me down.

Thursday, 12 January 2017

Thursday Movie Picks #131: Movies set in the Fashion World


A new week and a new Thursday movie picks. This week is all about fashion, something I know very little about (as you can tell by the way I dress). Make sure to check out -http://wanderingthroughtheshelves.blogspot.co.uk/

Wednesday, 11 January 2017

Swiss Army Man



Hank Thompson (Paul Dano) is stranded on an Island way out to sea, he is about to hang himself off a rock before he spots a corpse (played by Daniel Radcliffe) has washed up on the shore. The corpse appears to be totally dead and motionless (which is what corpses do I suppose) apart from the fact it appears to be farting. These farts are quite powerful and create a special kind of energy that can propel Hank great distances. Soon enough, the corpse seems to come to life, and the two form a strange bond as they both on an extraordinary adventure.

Friday, 6 January 2017

Assassin’s Creed


Based on the video game franchise, the film starts in the year 1492 where a group of secret assassins swear to protect the Prince of Grenada. These are the Assassin’s Brotherhood who have long opposed the Templar Order. Hundreds of years later Callum Lynch (Michael Fassbender) is executed for murder, but he wakes up inside the compound of a mysterious company who have traced his heritage and found out he’s related to one of the Assassins. They have built a machine that allows Callum to inhabit the memories of his ancestor and tasked him with finding the Apple of Eden.

Thursday, 5 January 2017

Thursday Movie Picks: Legal Thrillers



 
I’m not going to lie, I actually forgot about this until midway through Thursday. Anyway these are my picks for 2017’s first Thursday Movie Picks.

Don’t forget to check out – http://wanderingthroughtheshelves.blogspot.co.uk/

Wednesday, 4 January 2017

Silence



Set in the 17th Century, two Portuguese Jesuit Priests (Andrew Garfield and Adam Driver) are tasked with locating their master, Cristavao Ferreira (Liam Neeson), who has vanished after missionary work in Japan. In Japan, the two priests are victim to persecution and torture as Christain teaching is rejected in the country.

Sunday, 1 January 2017

Best Horror Films of 2016


A few days ago I published a review of the year in horror. This is a rundown of my favourite horror films of 2016.

Blind Spot 2017 and Anniversary Series


I’ve have deiced to actually take part in this year’s Blind Spot and I will start the year with Federico Fellini’s 8 ½.

The list of films are as follows (might not be in the order stated):